Brilliant Classics

Rachmaninoff: Preludes, complete

Rachmaninoff: Preludes, complete
Composer Sergei Rachmaninoff
Artist Lukas Geniušas piano
Format 1 CD
Cat. number PCL0078
EAN code 5060385450130
Release August 2015

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon




Download & streams

  • Download at Spotify
  •  Buy at iTunes

Other buying options

About this release

This unique live recording by Lukas Geniušas is a feat of extraordinary concentration and technical mastery. Played in the big hall of the famous Moscow Conservatory, it displays Geniušas’ prodigious gifts: supreme control, strong sense of structure and a sincere and warm projection of the human emotions of the music. Lukas Geniušas, born into a family of musicians (his grandmother was the legendary Vera Gornostaeva), is Silver Medallist of the 2010 Chopin Competition, and first‐prize winner of the German Piano Award and the Gina Bachauer Competition. His earlier recording for Piano Classics (PCL0075, Beethoven: Hammerklavier Sonata / Brahms: Piano Sonata 1), received great critical acclaim: “Geniušas not only convinces with energy and virtuosity, he also approaches the massive sound structures with a deep poetic feeling” (Spiegel, Germany).

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Prélude, Op. 3: II. Lento in C-Sharp Minor
  2. 10 Preludes, Op. 23: I. Largo in F-Sharp Minor
  3. 10 Preludes, Op. 23: II. Maestoso in B-Flat Major
  4. 10 Preludes, Op. 23: III. Tempo di minuetto in D Minor
  5. 10 Preludes, Op. 23: IV. Andante cantabile in D Major
  6. 10 Preludes, Op. 23: V. Alla marcia in G Minor
  7. 10 Preludes, Op. 23: VI. Andante in E-Flat Major
  8. 10 Preludes, Op. 23: VII. Allegro in C Minor
  9. 10 Preludes, Op. 23: VIII. Allegro vivace in A-Flat Major
  10. 10 Preludes, Op. 23: IX. Presto in E-Flat Minor
  11. 10 Preludes, Op. 23: X. Largo in G-Flat Major
  12. 13 Preludes, Op. 32: I. Allegro vivace in C Major
  13. 13 Preludes, Op. 32: II. Allegretto in B-Flat Minor
  14. 13 Preludes, Op. 32: III. Allegro vivace in E Major
  15. 13 Preludes, Op. 32: IV. Allegro con brio in E Minor
  16. 13 Preludes, Op. 32: V. Moderato in G Major
  17. 13 Preludes, Op. 32: VI. Allegro appassionato in F Minor
  18. 13 Preludes, Op. 32: VII. Moderato in F Major
  19. 13 Preludes, Op. 32: VIII. Vivo in A Minor
  20. 13 Preludes, Op. 32: IX. Allegro moderato in A Major
  21. 13 Preludes, Op. 32: X. Lento in B Minor
  22. 13 Preludes, Op. 32: XI. Allegretto in B Major
  23. 13 Preludes, Op. 32: XII. Allegro in G-Sharp Minor
  24. 13 Preludes, Op. 32: XIII. Grave in D-Flat Major