Brilliant Classics

Pärt: Lamentate (BIOVINYL)

Pärt: Lamentate (BIOVINYL)
Composer Arvo Pärt
Artist Pedro Piquero piano
Orquesta de Extremedura
Álvaro Albiach conductor
Format 1 LP
Cat. number PCL10292
EAN code 5029365102926
Release April 2024

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon

Download & streams

Other buying options

About this release

An audiophile LP transfer for a highly praised recording of a monumental tribute from one great artist to another.
Probably the most performed living composer, Arvo Pärt was inspired to compose Lamentate in 2002 by a work of the sculptor Anish Kapoor. Its title, Marsyas, refers to the satyr of classical legend who challenged the god Apollo to a musical contest, and was flayed alive for his hubris. Occupying the huge space of the Turbine Hall at Tate Modern in London, Kapoor’s sculpture evokes the Promethean daring of humanity in abstract terms, and in response, commissioned by the Tate, Pärt produced his largest work of instrumental music.

When he first saw the sculpture, said Pärt, ‘my first impression was that I, as a living being, was standing before my own body and was dead, as in a time-warp perspective, at once in the future and the present. Suddenly, I found myself put in a position in which my life appeared in a different light.’ Cast in 10 movements, over the course of 40 minutes, Lamentate is not a rite of grief for a specific individual but raises its gaze to more universal concerns.

‘Death and suffering are the themes that concern every person born into this world,’ as Part remarks. ‘Accordingly, I have written a lamento – not for the dead, but for the living, who have todeal with these issues for themselves. A lamento for us, who don’t have it easy dealing with the pain and hopelessness of the world.’ Pärt is thus contributing to a tradition of semi-sacred or indeed secular liturgies of grief and remembrance and transfiguration, from the German Requiem of Brahms to the Four Last Songs of Richard Strauss and On the Transmigration of Souls by John Adams. This Spanish-made version, previously issued on CD and other digital formats, attracted critical praise for the dedication of its performance and the depth of field in its engineering, which is underlined by the new transfer to the analogue format of LP.

- The LP version of a highly successful CD recording of the Lamentate by Arvo Pärt, played by Spanish pianist Pedro Piquero and the Orquesta de Extremadura conducted by Álvaro Albiach.
- “Death and suffering are the themes that concern every person born into this world. The way in which the individual comes to terms with these issues (or fails to do so) determines his attitude towards life, whether consciously or unconsciously… This is the subject matter underlying my composition Lamentate. Accordingly, I have written a lament – not for the dead, but for the living, who have to deal with these issues for themselves.” This was how composer Arvo Pärt referred to his work for piano and orchestra Lamentate.
- Also presented here are the Psalom for string orchestra and Cantus in Memoriam Benjamin Britten.
- This recording won a Melomano D’Oro Award in Spain, 5 Stars in Ritmo (Spain), “This disc is coherent, expresses an authentic and moving feeling, is superbly played by the pianist and seems to me to be one of Pärt's best discs to date.” (Scherzo, Spain).


Track list

Disk 1

  1. Arvo Pärt: Lamentate: I. Minacciando
  2. Arvo Pärt: Lamentate: II. Spietato
  3. Arvo Pärt: Lamentate: III. Fragile
  4. Arvo Pärt: Lamentate: IV. Pregando
  5. Arvo Pärt: Lamentate: V. Solitudine – stato d’animo
  6. Arvo Pärt: Lamentate: VI. Consolante
  7. Arvo Pärt: Lamentate: VII. Stridendo
  8. Arvo Pärt: Lamentate: VIII. Lamentabile

Disk 2

  1. : Lamentate: IX. Risolutamente
  2. : Lamentate: X. Fragile e conciliante
  3. : Psalom
  4. : Cantus in Memoriam Benjamin Britten