Brilliant Classics

Messiaen: Vingt Regards sur l’Enfant Jésus

Messiaen: Vingt Regards sur l’Enfant Jésus
Composer Olivier Messiaen
Artist Jean-Rodolphe Kars
Format 2 CD
Cat. number PCL10134
EAN code 5029365101349
Release November 2017

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon

Download & streams

Other buying options

About this release

There have been many Messiaen pianists of note to perform and record his music during the last half-century, not least thanks to the composer’s generosity as a teacher of both the technical and spiritual aspects of his music, which go hand in hand as they do for very few others. Save for Messiaen’s second wife Yvonne Loriod, however, none of those pianists can claim so direct and profound an understanding of the composer and his music as Jean-Rodolphe Kars. This makes the present issue of a hitherto unreleased recording of the Vingt Regards all the more significant: essential listening for all Messiaen devotees.

The recording was made live by Dutch radio at a concert in the Kleine Zaal of the Amsterdam Concertgebouw on 30 April 1976. By then, Kars had pursued a concert career of note for almost a decade, having been a finalist in the 1966 Leeds International Piano Competition and taken first prize in the 1968 Olivier Messiaen competition.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Regard du père
  2. Regard de l'étoile
  3. L'échange
  4. Regard de la vierge
  5. Regard du fils sur le fils
  6. Par lui tout a été fait
  7. Regard de la croix
  8. Regard des hauteurs
  9. Regard du temps
  10. Regard de l'esprit de joie

Disk 2

  1. Première communion de la vierge
  2. La parole toute-puissante
  3. Noël
  4. Regard des anges
  5. Le baiser de l'enfant-jésus
  6. Regard des prophètes, des bergers et des mages
  7. Regard du silence
  8. Regard de l'onction terrible
  9. Je dors, mais mon cœur veille
  10. Regard de l'eglise d'amour

On Youtube