Brilliant Classics

Kapustin Piano Works

Kapustin Piano Works
Composer Nikolai Kapustin
Artist Sukyeon Kim
Format 1 CD
Cat. number PCL0082
EAN code 5060385450178
Release January 2015

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon

Download & streams

  • Download at Spotify

Other buying options

About this release

Nikolai Kapustin (born in 1937 in Ukraine) was trained as a classical pianist at Moscow Conservatory by Alexander Goldenweiser (one of the legendary pianists of the Russian Piano School). During the 1950s he won fame as a Jazz pianist. As a composer he fused both styles, using Jazz idioms in classical structures, like the Sonata, (quasi baroque) Suite and Preludes and Fugues. His music gains rapidly in popularity, and an increasing number of famous pianists programme his works in recitals. Young Korean Sukyeon Kim is the perfect interpreter of this music: without exaggerating its jazzy character her phenomenally supple and natural technique gives an irresistible “Schwung“ to these fascinating pieces of spinetingling virtuosity and brilliance.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Variations, Op. 41
  2. Toccatina, Op. 36
  3. 8 Etudes, Op. 40: I. Prelude in C Major
  4. 8 Etudes, Op. 40: II. Reverie in A-flat Major
  5. 8 Etudes, Op. 40: III. Toccatina in E Minor
  6. 8 Etudes, Op. 40: VI. Pastorale in B-Flat Major
  7. 8 Etudes, Op. 40: VII. Intermezzo in D-Flat Major
  8. 8 Etudes, Op. 40: VIII. Finale in F-Minor
  9. Andante, Op. 58
  10. Paraphrase on Aquarela do Brasil by Ary Barroso, Op. 118
  11. Day-Break, Op. 26
  12. Piano Sonata No. 2, Op. 54: I. Allegro molto
  13. Piano Sonata No. 2, Op. 54: II. Scherzo, allegro assai
  14. Piano Sonata No. 2, Op. 54: III. Largo
  15. Piano Sonata No. 2, Op. 54: IV. Perpetuum mobile, allegro vivace