Brilliant Classics

J. S. Bach: Organ Works

J. S. Bach: Organ Works
Composer Johann Sebastian Bach
Artist Alexander Kniazev piano
Format 1 CD
Cat. number PCL0121
EAN code 5060385450628
Release November 2017

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon

Download & streams

Other buying options

About this release

Alexander Kniazev is not only one of the most remarkable and sought-after cellists of today, he is also an exceptional organist, his recording of the Goldberg Variations on the organ was met with great critical acclaim.

On this new recording Alexander Kniazev plays the majestic and magnificent organ of the Dom in Riga, a historic organ built in 1884 by Walcker, and restored by Flentrop. It has 4 manuals, 125 registers and 6768 pipes, of which the largest is 10 meters.

The booklet contains liner notes in English, and the full specifications and photo of the organ.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Fantasia in G Major, BWV 571: I. Très vitement-Grave-Lentement
  2. Fantasia in C Minor, BWV 562
  3. Aus tiefer Not schrei ich zu dir in E Minor, BWV 686
  4. Am Wasserflüssen Babylon in G Major, BWV 653
  5. Vater unser im Himmelreich, BWV 416
  6. 6 Schübler-Chorale: I. Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme, BWV 645
  7. 6 Schübler-Chorale: II. Wo soll ich fliehen hin, BWV 646
  8. 6 Schübler-Chorale: III. Wer nun den lieben Gott lässt Walten, BWV 647
  9. 6 Schübler-Chorale: IV. Meine Seele erhebet den Herren, BWV 648
  10. 6 Schübler-Chorale: V. Ach bleib bei uns, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 649
  11. 6 Schübler-Chorale: VI. Kommst du nun, Jesu, vom Himmel herunter, BWV 650
  12. Prelude and Fugue in E-Flat Major, BWV 552: I. Prelude
  13. Prelude and Fugue in E-Flat Major, BWV 552: II. Fugue