Brilliant Classics

Earl Wild: The Complete Transcriptions, Vol. 2

Earl Wild: The Complete Transcriptions, Vol. 2
Composer Earl Wild
Artist Giovanni Doria Miglietta piano
Format 1 CD
Cat. number PCL0102
EAN code 5060385450376
Release January 2016

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon

Download & streams

Other buying options

About this release

The second installment of the complete Piano Works by Earl Wild! Earl Wild (1915‐2010) was without doubt one of the greatest pianists of the 20th century. His immense repertoire, his staggering virtuosity, his warmth and his charm deserve him the epithet legendary. Wild was a great improviser as well, and he frequently played his own fantasies in his concerts. Fortunately he wrote these wonderful pieces down, and his creative legacy contains a wealth of transcriptions, fantasies and paraphrases, as well as original piano works. This CD features the complete recording of Wild’s famous transcriptions of Rachmaninoff songs. Rachmaninoff was of course one of the greatest pianists ever, and the piano writing for his songs is virtuoso and substantial, a severe challenge for the performer. In Wild’s transcriptions the voice melody melts into the accompaniment, creating the most wonderful, lush and sumptuous pianism ever written!

Track list

Disk 1

  1. 6 Romances, Op. 38: V. Dreams
  2. 12 Romances, Op. 21: VII. Where Beauty Dwells
  3. 6 Romances, Op. 4: IV. O, Cease Thy Singing
  4. 12 Romances, Op. 21: XII. Sorrow in Springtime
  5. 12 Romances, Op. 14: II. The Little Island
  6. 14 Romances, Op. 34: I. The Muse
  7. 12 Romances, Op. 14: V. Midsummer Night
  8. 15 Romances, Op. 26: VII. To the Children
  9. 12 Romances, Op. 14: VIII. Do not Grieve
  10. 6 Romances, Op. 4: III. In the Silent Night
  11. 6 Romances, Op. 4: V. Harvest of Sorrow
  12. 12 Romances, Op. 21: VIII. On the Death of a Linnet
  13. 14 Romances, Op. 34: XIV. Vocalise
  14. 12 Romances, Op. 14: XI. Floods of Spring