Brilliant Classics

Chopin: Late Works, Op 57-61

Chopin: Late Works, Op 57-61
Composer Frédéric Chopin
Artist Georgijs Osokins
Format 1 CD
Cat. number PCL0109
EAN code 5060385450451
Release May 2016

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon

Download & streams

Other buying options

About this release

“He has a very rare gift of a true Chopinist’, this is what the renowned pianist and pedagogue Sergei Babayan (teacher of a.o. Daniil Trifonov) said of Georgijs Osokins. Dmitri Bashkirov commented “This young musician is exceptionally talented”. Georgijs Osokins, born into a family of Latvian musicians/pianists, gained international attention through his participation at age 19 in the Chopin Competition 2015, where his performances received either superlatives or led to controversy. His playing is of a rare originality, based on a deep musical intuition, a strong sense of rhetoric and an immaculate technique. His debut album is dedicated to late works by Chopin: the Berceuse, the Barcarolle, Mazurkas Op. 59, the Polonaise‐Fantaisie and the Third Piano Sonata, music of hallucinatory beauty and vision in his hands.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Berceuse in D-Flat Major, Op. 57
  2. Piano Sonata No. 3 in B Minor, Op. 58: I. Allegro maestoso
  3. Piano Sonata No. 3 in B Minor, Op. 58: II. Scherzo, molto vivace
  4. Piano Sonata No. 3 in B Minor, Op. 58: III. Largo
  5. Piano Sonata No. 3 in B Minor, Op. 58: IV. Finale, presto non tanto
  6. Mazurkas, Op. 59: No. 1 in A Minor
  7. Mazurkas, Op. 59: No. 2 in A-Flat Major
  8. Mazurkas, Op. 59: No. 3 in F-Sharp Minor
  9. Barcarolle in F-Sharp Major, Op. 60
  10. Polonaise-fantaisie in A-Flat Major, Op. 61
  11. Souvenir de Paganini in A Major, Op. Posth.